Home Maps & Info ScoreCam All-Tourney Record Book Schedule Results Bracket Rosters

Central Tournament Trivia:

Since returning to the tournament field in 2010, the Panthers are an even 7-7.

In each of the past four tournaments, Central has met up with Metamora. Only one of those meetings was in the opening round. The Redbirds are 4-0 in those matchups.

In their last three years of competition in the tournament prior to their 2010 return (2002-04), Central was only 1-6. However, their average losing margin in those six loses was only six points.

This is the Central's fifth stint in the tournament field since the M-WHT expanded to 16 teams in 1969. Central has participated 1969-73, 1975-85, 1989-94, 1999-2004, and 2010 to present.

Among current tournament partcipants, only Macomb (159), Pittsfield (142) and Canton (129) have played more tournament contests than Central (86).

In those 86 games, the Panthers are 31-55 (.360) including a 1-12 stretch from 1999-2004.

Jeff Nielsen shares the tournament record of 24 rebounds in a game. (vs. Winchester 1975). That record is also held by Metamora's R.J. Romani (1995). Nielson finished the 1975 tournament with a total of 78 rebounds which is also a tournament record.


Last year in the tourney:

Illini Central W 45-33
Metamora L 38-22
Eureka L 47-39

Central Tournament Titles:



Prior to the tournament:

Nov. 25 Rushville-Industry* L 47-39
26 West Hancock* L 55-50 2OT
28 @ Southeastern* W 47-38 OT
29 Unity* W 64-44
Dec. 5 Monmouth-Roseville L 50-36
15 Illini West    
16 @ Western    
20 Liberty    
*denotes Suns Classic @ Augusta


Central Panthers
Front Row L to R: Eric Lee, Jason Dormire, Taylor Heimann, Nathan Stoner, Ryan Freiburg.
Back Row L to R: Noah Dearwester, Lane Marlow, Devin Cassens, Alger Saldana, Christian Rigg, Brady Curtis. Missing Devon Buss.

3 Eric Lee 5-7     SR
4 Christian Rigg 5-8     SO
11 Ryan Freiburg 5-11     SR
21 Lane Marlow 5-9     SO
22 Alger Saldana 6-2     SR
23 Noah Dearwester 5-8     SO
24 Jason Dormire 5-11     SR
32 Taylor Heimann 6-5     SR
33 Nathan Stoner 5-11     SR
44 Devin Cassens 5-11     SO
50 Devon Buss 5-10     SO
HEAD COACH... Todd Plattner NICKNAME... Panthers
ASST. COACH... Brad Dixon
HONORARY COACH... Donald Purnell SCHOOL COLORS... Black & Gold
SPONSOR... Hampton Inn of Macomb CONFERENCE... West Central (South)
CITIES IN DISTRICT: Camp Point, Clayton, Coatsburg, Golden, LaPrairie, Kellerville, Columbus, Paloma

Copyright © 2014 Macomb-Western Holiday Basketball Tournament Committee
Site design and maintenance by Chris Smith