Home Maps & Info ScoreCam All-Tourney Record Book Schedule Results Bracket Rosters

Lewistown Tournament Trivia:

The Indians enter the tournament this year having played West Prairie in back-to-back games for the second straight year. They have met in a Spoon River Crossover contest and then in a regular season game.

Last year marked the first time that Lewistown played four tournament games in a single event.

Only once since returning to the tournament in 2000 has Lewistown come to Western Hall without notching a win (2013).

In the stretch between 2002 and 2008, Lewistown won three trophies despite being unseeded each time.

The Indians were winners of one of the longest tournament games ever played as undefeated Lewistown outlasted previously undefeated Pleasant Plains 86-77 in four overtimes in 2007.

In 1963, Rushville beat Galva 100-88 in four OTs to match the 2007 contest for longest game honors.

Lewistown has enjoyed much success over the past several years including two trips to the state finals (2008 & 2009) followed by a super sectional appearance in 2010 and a sectional final appearance in 2011. Oddly enough, Lewistown was unseeded in the MWHT in either of the seasons they made a trip to Peoria.

In making it to the title game in 2007, Lewistown was attempting to become the first unseeded team to win the championship since Canton accomplished the feat in 2002.

Nate Koster scored 102 points on the way to helping his team earn the 2001 tournament title. His performance earned him the Tourney MVP award.

Joe Coleman was MVP of the 1980 gathering.

Lewistown sent Northwestern's Randy Bowman to the free throw line 20 times during their 1981 tournament matchup. The Indians watched Bowman sink all 20 of those atempts.

Larry Krulac was the 1958 tournament MVP.


Last year in the tourney:

Macomb L 42-61
Canton L 35-46

Lewistown Tournament Titles:

1958 2001

Prior to the tournament:

Nov. 19 North Fulton* W 62-47
21 South Fulton* W 66-38
23 Havana* W 60-45
24 Farmington* L 48-59
27 Illini West W 66-54
29 Midwest Central W 83-61
30 Illini Central W 65-62
Dec. 4 West Prairie W 71-42
7 @ Peoria Heights W 56-44
8 Unity W 45-28
11 Rushville-Industry W 50-43
14 Illini Bluffs W 51-48
18 Galva W 53-30
* Denotes Fulton County Tournament




Lewistown Indians
Back row L to R: Coach Clayton Hatfill, Coach Nate Adkins, Cade Beekman, Nick Pollitt, Ethan Mikulich, Matt Goldring, Coach Chance Simpson, Coach Scott Hammond.
Front row L to R: Dylan Hamm, Kruze Chasteen, Preston Horwedel, Zack Severns, Drake Herrick, J.R. Hess, Clay Beekman, Kennedy Cleer.

2 Cade Beekman 6-3 170   12
3 Drake Herrick 5-9 145   10
4 Preston Horwedel 6-0 165   10
10 Zach Severns 5-10 160   12
14 Nick Pollitt 6-3 155   12
15 Matt Goldring 6-2 155   10
22 Clay Beekman 6-1 180   10
24 Dylan Hamm 6-1 190   12
30 Kruze Chasteen 6-0 185   11
32 J.R. Hess 5-10 140   9
34 Ethan Mikulich 6-3 190   12
40 Kenneth Munson 6-0 165   10
42 Kennedy Cleer 6-1 180   11

HEAD COACH: Clayton Hatfill
ASST. COACH: Scott Hammond, Chance Simpson, Taylor Shubert, Nate Adkins
SPONSOR: Brown's Shoe Fit Co.
SCHOOL COLORS: Red & Columbia Blue
CONFERENCE: Prairieland
CITIES IN DISTRICT: Lewistown, St. David, Bryant, Little America

Copyright © 2018 Macomb-Western Holiday Basketball Tournament Committee
Site design and maintenance by Chris Derry