Home Maps & Info ScoreCam All-Tourney Record Book Schedule Results Bracket Rosters

Warsaw/Nauvoo-Colusa Tournament Trivia:

WNC's trip to the third-place game last year was the first time a team from Warsaw made it to a trophy game since Warsaw (without Nauvoo-Colusa) made it to the consolation championship in 2001. They lost that game, 61-40, to Southern.

Prior to last tournament, the last time Warsaw took home a M-WHT trophy was in 1998 when the Wildcats earned their last tournament title.

Two tournament statistical leaders from a season ago are back for the Wildcats. Luke Bavery is the second best field goal shooter (71.4%) to return and Ben Kearse had the second best three-point FG percentage (36.4%) a year ago. Both of them scored 46 points in four tournament games in 2006.

Warsaw/Nauvoo-Colusa was among the non-ranked teams receiving votes in the Associated Press' preseason Class A boys basketball poll.

With their 51-42 win over Lewistown in 2005, Warsaw picked up its first opening round win since 1998. That win was also the school's first in the tournament since Greg Buelt's buzzer beater put away Camp Point Central, 46-45, in 2001.

Warsaw set the record for scoring the fewest points in two games (55) in 2002. They also tied Hamilton (1990) for lowest FG shooting percentage (23%).

Jason Edwin was spectacular as he ran away with MVP honors in 1998.

In 1991, Billie Bavery earned MVP honors.

Steve Rothert was named tourney MVP in 1985.


Last year in the tourney
(as Warsaw):

Bushnell-Prairie City W 45-23
Lewistown W 56-38
Macomb L 76-64
Farmington L 47-37

Warsaw/Nauvoo-Colusa Tournament Titles:


as Warsaw:

1991 1998


Prior to the tournament:

Nov. 19 Camp Point Central W 72-45
21 Mendon Unity W 63-28
23 Southeastern W 51-23
24 Quincy Notre Dame L 61-53
30 Clark Co., MO W 69-42
Dec. 4 West Prairie W 68-47
7 Southeastern W 65-61
14 Western W 44-32
20 Quincy Notre Dame W 59-52


Warsaw/Nauvoo-Colusa Wildcats
Front Row L to R: Cameron Mitchell, Ryan Runge, Cody Allen, Kyle Jenkins, Ben Kearse and Dennis Jones.
Back Row L to R: Coach Reno Pinkston, Ross Purchatzke, Luke Bavery, Will Carr, Dalton Mann, Cody Harmon and Assistant Coach David Griffiths.

14 DENNIS JONES 5-7   G 12
22 RYAN RUNGE 5-8   G 10
24 CODY ALLEN 5-8   G 10
32 BEN KEARSE 5-11   G 12
34 CODY HARMON 6-1   F 12
40 KYLE JENKINS 6-2   F 10
42 DALTON MANN 6-3   F 11
44 LUKE BAVERY 6-3   C 12
54 WILL CARR 6-8   C 11
HEAD COACH... Reno Pinkston NICKNAME... Wildcats
ASST. COACH... David Griffiths
HONORARY COACH... John Simmons SCHOOL COLORS... Red, White & Black
SPONSOR... Aurelio's Pizza CONFERENCE...West Central

Copyright © 2007 Macomb-Western Holiday Basketball Tournament Committee
Site design and maintenance by Chris Smith